Tours calendar (prebooked tours which do not meet our required minimum of travelers)
<< June 2017 >>
<< July 2017 >>
<< August 2017 >>
<< September 2017 >>
<< October 2017 >>
<< November 2017 >>
<< December 2017 >>
<< January 2018 >>
<< February 2018 >>
<< March 2018 >>
<< April 2018 >>
<< May 2018 >>

No scheduled tours for now

Why book with us?

> No credit card needed
> No cancellation fees
> Payment after the tour
> Customized Tours
> Free pickups
> Ultimately best prices
> Free DVDs
> Special Offers & Deals
> 24/7 Customer Care
> Traveler Reviews & Photos
> Best tour guides
> Great Discounts


PLAESE NOTE:
We are dedicated to deliver greatest possible travel experience. That is why we prefer private trips whenever possible, hosting usually 4-8 travelers.

Delivering greatness, nonetheless!

About Funky Tours

Sarajevo Funky Tours is created to bring you greatest sightseeing experience, amazing activities & things to do in and around Sarajevo and rest of Bosnia and Herzegovina.

We aim to be: B&H EXPERIENCE!

Please Note: Prefered number of guests on our trips is between 4-8, because we strive to make our tours personal and flexible as much as we can.
If needed, we can accommodate much more (coach required tours).

CONTACT US:
tel/sms: + 387 62 910 546
sarajevo.citytours@gmail.com

Location: Tours | Srebrenica Genocide (Never Forget July 11th 1995)
Understanding Genocide Day Tour from Sarajevo

From EUR

60

Srebrenica Genocide (Never Forget July 11th 1995)
Understanding Genocide Day Tour from Sarajevo

Tour type: Historic, Siege, War & Genocide

View all 12 Traveler Photos

Read all 8 Traveler Reviews

9 - 10 hours

Read what our customers say about our tour(s), so you get the best possible opininon before you book.

I did this tour as a solo traveller, and it was amazing. Skender picked me up from my hotel, and on the drive to Srebrenica through dramatic mountains and forests he described in detail the history surrounding the events that took place there, and the conditions endured during the siege of Sarajevo. His insight and analysis of the situation then and now were exceptional and gave me a real understanding of the complexities at play.

At Srebreneca he introduced me to a survivor of the genocide, who described in detail events as they had occurred in 1995 and the lead up, and showed me around the memorial and museum, housed in the old Dutch UN peacekeepers barracks. This was a valuable experience I will not forget.

It is not everyday I meet someone that I can sit in a car for six hours with (3 hours there and 3 hours back), but Skender is just such a man, I cannot speak highly enough of his dedication and enthusiasm for his country and its past.

Also, when he dropped me at my hotel I realized I left my jacket in his van. I called him, and despite being almost back at his place, he dropped it back to me !!

Thanks again Skender !

Reviewed by: Peter T, 01.11.2012

This was my second time in Sarajevo, and my second tour with Sarajevo Funky Tours, and the guide, Skender. My tour last year was the tunnel museum and battlements - it was truly remarkable, and so doing another tour with Skender was top of my list.

It was a 2.5 hour drive to Srebrenica. Skender's an excellent driver, and the roads are in very good condition, so there should be no problem for usually anxious passengers. Srebrenica is a very picturesque town, layered in a valley of two small mountain ranges that meet to make a tight valley. Potocari is just a couple of kilometres away, and that's where most of the 'action' took place, where the Dutchbat base was, and where the cemetery and memorials now stand. The whole experience is tear-jerking, and Skender's knowledge is phenomenal (and he is able to talk for hours on end). We spent about 5 hour in the cemetery, the museum, talking with a survivor, walking round the now dilapidated Dutchbat quarters, and having a very nice dinner in a restaurant in Srebrenica.

I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who is visiting Bosnia.

Reviewed by: pooyousir, 18.11.2012

Skender was an excellent guide. We first did the total siege tour, which gave us lots of information about what happened in the Sarajevo siege. We liked Skender tour so much we decided to stay in Sarajevo one more night and do the Srebrenica tour. 
Both tours are very personal and give you great insight into the conflict in Bosnia.
 

Reviewed by: LeeLee83_10, 28.09.2011

We, 6 Dutch friends, booked this tour to Sebrenica and Potocari in July with Skender as our guide. We already knew something about this massacre (because of the Dutch involvement), but visiting this place (the cemetery, the memorial site, the factory in which Duthcbat had its base etc.) gave everything an extra more real dimension. Moreover, the movie that is shown at the factory combined with the information and stories that Skender presented to us makes this tour overall very interesting. 

We would surely recommend this tour to everyone visiting Sarajevo.

Reviewed by: Frank, 06.09.2011

Take a 2.5hr trip over the mountains to Srebrenica to pay your respects at the memorial site and to learn what you thought you knew but did not about the massacre in July 1995. Skender , highly educated and fluent in English, lived through these times and will provide you with a deeper understanding of the Bosnian troubles and what happened and why it happened around Srebrenica. We were able to meet people who were there at the time and even one man who survived. Of course, you can travel there independently but there is very little in English to help you and so Skender's presence and his contacts become invaluable. You'll also visit the once Dutch UN base where the international community failed the Bosnian moslems so badly. Don't worry if you have less than 4 people in your group; just email Funky Tours and Skender will work something out for you. This small group tour operator has my unreserved recommendation.

Reviewed by: Ian F, 04.06.2011

This was an outstanding tour and overall experience that I cannot recommend enough. I was in Sarajevo conducting academic research into trials relating to the wars of the 90s in the former Yugoslavia and my fiance found Sarajevo Funky Tours on the internet. We contacted Skender and he was incredibly helpful. We took a tour with a journalist from Romania, and had a terribly enlightening, educative and emotional experience. As a scholar of the dissolution of the former Yugoslavia I felt it was important to visit Srebrenica during my research in Sarajevo. We had contemplated whether going there on our own or whether to take a tour, and I could not be more pleased that we chose to take the Sarajevo Funky Tour 'Srebrenica, Never Forget' tour. Skender was an amazing guide, and provided a lot of frank discussion and insight into Bosnian history and society during our drive to Srebrenica (the drive is stunningly beautiful - particularly our return trip at sunset, which was stunning). The Srebrenica memorial is a moving testament to the suffering, but also the endurance of those who were forced to experience it. Skender organised for us to speak with a survivor and memorial center director. This was a fascinating discussion, particularly for myself. However, I believe that anyone would benefit from visiting Srebrenica and taking this tour. The memorial centre itself is fascinating, with contributions from Emir Suljagic (a survivor of Srebrenica), a well produced documentary and moving photographs. The real power however is in the "rawness" of the site and how it has been maintained as a site of tragedy in the same condition as it was during the siege and fall. I highly recommend this tour. If I had not been tied up with research work we would certainly have participated in other tours from Sarajevo Funky Tours as well. I also believe that if I were to stay again in Sarajevo I would stay at Skender's hostel. This is how impressed I was with the professionalism of Skender and his company.

Reviewed by: Ray N, 18.05.2011

To be honest I did not knew much about Srebrenica genocide upon my arrival to Sarajevo. Mostly we would hear some news on TV and various medias. Prior to my arrival, I got somehow interested more about the events in Bosnia back in nineties and found out about Funky Tours great War themed tours. We took Sarajevo Total Siege Tour and Srebrenica tour, anf both of them amazing. 
One word will describe everything, simply - AMAZING.

First you get to know and see everything about crazy siege of Sarajevo, and later you learn about Srebrenica. Death and horror which took place in small city 130 km away from Sarajevo. Museum visit was great, cemetery, but most of all Srebrenica survivor talk, which we were lucky to be talk to, the person who is in charge in main Potocari memorial center had lot to tell us. How he survived, what was happening, etc...

This tour really helps you see a lot about recent history...

Greetings from USA.
Alieen

Reviewed by: Alieen, 08.02.2011

Srebrenica is place to visit. Srebrenica is place whare worst crimes took place in past 50 years. Srebrenica is simply hope.
Guys from the Funky Tours were great, we have been in Srebrenica, Potocari and around for almost whole day. This tour is nothing you ve had already, it is so personalized and flexible it makes a trip so good and interesting.

Reviewed by: Emiliano, 20.09.2006

Results 1-8 of 8
| 1 |