The oldest written document pertaining to Zavala dates from 1514. The monastery was built by members of the ducal Hrabren - Miloradović family, who built many endowments in Herzegovina in the 16th century.
The single-nave church is vaulted. The north side of the church abuts into the rock. To the north-east of the church, on the rock, is a stone bell tower “na preslicu” with three bells, built in 1899 before the steps on to the south of the building were built. The frescoes in the Zavala monastery church date from 1619 and are an outstanding group of frescoes in Bosnia and Herzegovina. They were painted by Georgije Mitrofanović, a monk from Hilandar, who was the most gifted and highly educated Serbian artist of the 17th century.
The new konaks were erected in 1876, when the rest of the monastery was renovated. In 1886 a monastery school was opened.
The collection of art works belonging to the monastery was destroyed during the World War II.
The monastery was destroyed during the 1992-1995 war.
Conservation and restoration works on the renovation of the monastery and church were financed by the Governemnt of the Kingdom of Sweden through the NGO Cultural Heritage without Borders. The works were completed in 2004.