Stolac is located in the the southeastern part of Bosnia and Herzegovin, at the far east of Herzegovina-Neretva canton. The town had developed on the banks of the river Bregava, and is surrounded by mountains Hrgud and Vidovo polje. West side entrance is Dubravska plateau, which is specifically known for its peaches and vineyards, above all good vines.
Famous for its Mediterranean charm, good water, mild sky, gentle landscape and the harmony of natural beauty, Stolac has always attracted people from prehistoric times.
Illyrians and Greek seafarers, Roman patricians, east Gothic invaders, Slavics, Ottoman nobles, princes, Venetian, Austro-Hungarian rulers, and many admirers of the sun, fresh Bregava, cultural and historical values and mysterious messages from the past centuries have left their mark here: ruins and graves, the names of the message-board for those who come after them. Stolac is place with longest and richest history of urban life in Bosnia and Herzegovina, and belongs to a small group of the Balkans areas, where are preserved material testimonies about urban life through the period longer over 3,500 years, as old are the last known finding of Illyrian city Daorson.
Stolac Old Town
The Old Town of Stolac (Vidoški grad) covers area of 20,503 square meters and is one of the largest towns in Bosnia and Herzegovina. It used to have thirteen towers in the 17th century and it was one of the best-fortified towns in Herzegovina. It comprises ten walls, a flour storage room, residential buildings and a mosque. The mosque suffered destruction in 1906. The remains of the mihrab and wall indicated the method of building the oldest mosques in Bosnia and Herzegovina.
Late antique substructures have been found on the northern side of the town (towers I-IV). The main structure of the ramparts consists of walls built in layers using the opus incertum construction technique, typical of the 4th century in this region. The ground plan of this late antique fortification shows the elements of Greek building in the Hellenist tradition.
Vidoški grad was first mentioned in the charter dates 19 February 1444, as the property of Stjepan Vukčić Kosača.
The medieval layer of the town is covered with the structures originating from the Austro-Hungarian period. Stolac became a part of Ottoman Empire on 13 June 1465, and a part of the Austria-Hungarian Monarchy in August 1878. The fort was repaired and annexed before 1888.