The year in which it was opened is recorded as 1630. The primary sources for the study of the cemetery have been locked and destroyed, praticulary in 1941, when the “Book of the Dead” which had been meticulously coped out by Moše Altarac, secretary of the Sephardi Community ond of the “Hevra kadiša” funeral society, was burned in the ruins of the Great Sephardi Synagogue in Sarajevo.
The Cemetery was heavily damaged during the recent Siege.
The Cemetery during the Siege of Sarajevo was one of the many first lines around Sarajevo, and the origin of everyday death from snipers on Sniper Alley. It was the place where Serbs have placed huge number of snipers which would be killing citizens of Sarajevo, literary everday.